Rewarding Good Citizenship

Good deeds are paying off for Indiana County volunteers. The county’s fire chiefs have created a scholarship based on good citizenship and civil service.

The Indiana County Fire Chiefs Association – ICFCA – set up a fund to give two $500 awards each year to college-bound students who are active in their community. The fund is managed by the Community Foundation for the Alleghenies, which will process applications and administer the awards every year.

ICFCA President Melvin Benamati says fire chiefs in Indiana want a way to encourage more young people to become personally involved in making their communities better. They also want to reward those students for spending their free time helping others.

“Volunteers are the heart and strength of Indiana communities,” says Benamati. “Our fire companies wouldn’t exist if not for the volunteers who show up to protect their friends and neighbors when that siren calls. We hope this award will put a spotlight on the great work being done by volunteers of all ages and abilities.”

The awards are available to high school seniors pursing college, and to full-time college students up to their third year. Non-traditional students also qualify and are encouraged to apply. Applicants need to live within the service area of any of the 28 volunteer fire departments that serve Indiana County residents. Special consideration will be given to students who have volunteered with their local fire company.

Support the fund online, or find out more about application and award details.

Here’s a list of member fire departments and qualifying school districts:

Member Organizations School Districts
Armagh Volunteer Fire DepartmentApollo Ridge School District
Aultman Volunteer Fire DepartmentBlacklick Valley School District
Blacklick Volunteer Fire DepartmentBlairsville/Saltsburg School District
Blairsville Volunteer Fire DepartmentCalvary Baptist Academy
Bolivar Volunteer Fire DepartmentHarmony Area School District
Brush Valley Volunteer Fire DepartmentHomer-Center School District
Cherryhill Volunteer Fire DepartmentIndiana School District
Cherry Tree Volunteer Fire DepartmentLigonier Valley School District
Clyde Volunteer Fire DepartmentMarion Center School District
Clymer Volunteer Fire DepartmentNorthern Cambria School District
Coal Run Volunteer Fire DepartmentPenns Manor School District
Commodore Volunteer Fire DepartmentPurchase Line School District
Coral/Graceton Volunteer Fire DepartmentPunxsutawney School District
Creekside Volunteer Fire DepartmentSeeds of Faith Christian Academy
Elderton Volunteer Fire DepartmentUnited School District
Glen Campbell Volunteer Fire DepartmentWest Shamokin High School
Homer City Volunteer Fire Department
Indiana Fire Association
Iselin Volunteer Fire Department
Nicktown Volunteer Fire Department
Perry Township Volunteer Fire Department
Pine Township Volunteer Fire Department
Plumville Volunteer Fire Department
Rossiter Volunteer Fire Department
Saltsburg Volunteer Fire Department
Saltsburg Volunteer Fire Department
Tunnelton Volunteer Fire Department
Vintondale Volunteer Fire Department


For additional information, or to set up your own scholarship fund, contact CFA Development Associate Katrina Perkosky:, (814) 536-7741, xt. 119.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.